RSS

Seasons in the Sun

01 Sep

Goodbye to you my trusted friend 
We’ve known each other since we were nine or ten 
Together we’ve climbed hills and trees 
Learned of love and ABC’s 
Skinned our hearts and skinned our knees 
Goodbye my friend it’s hard to die 
When all the birds are singing in the sky 
Now that spring is in the air 
Pretty girls are everywhere 
Think of me and I’ll be there 

We had joy, we had fun 
We had seasons in the sun 
But the hills that we climbed 
Were just seasons out of time 

Goodbye Papa please pray for me 
I was the black sheep of the family 
You tried to teach me right from wrong 
Too much wine and too much song 
Wonder how I got along 
Goodbye Papa it’s hard to die 
When all the birds are singing in the sky 
Now that the spring is in the air 
Little children everywhere 
When you see them, I’ll be there 

We had joy, we had fun 
We had seasons in the sun 
But the wine and the song 
Like the seasons have all gone 
We had joy, we had fun 
We had seasons in the sun 
But the wine and the song 
Like the seasons have all gone 

Goodbye Michelle my little one 
You gave me love and helped me find the sun 
And every time when I was down 
You would always come around 
And get my feet back on the ground 
Goodbye Michelle it’s hard to die 
When all the birds are singing in the sky 
Now that the spring is in the air 
With the flowers everywhere 
I wish that we could both be there 

We had joy, we had fun 
We had seasons in the sun 
But the hills that we climbed 
Were just seasons out of time
We had joy, we had fun 
We had seasons in the sun 
But the wine and the song 
Like the seasons have all gone 

1 of my top favorite Westlife songs! Have been listening to it since I was.. 11?
I know that they aren’t the original singers, if I’m not wrong the original singer is Terry Jacks. But somehow the Westlife version sounds way better.

It brings back so many memories of my childhood, how I could sit in front of the TV for hours watching their MVs and concert DVDs. Sabby and Tabs were fans too, in large part thanks to me, and whenever we stayed over at each others’ places when we were younger, we’d always end up watching Westlife DVDs, and Pokemon too (Yes, I know the Pokemon part has no link to Westlife!).

This song always brings me to a walk down memory lane indeed. My love for Westlife and all their music, their characters and everything has never changed over the years, their music is just that good to me, and their images are squeaky clean, something that you wouldn’t expect in the entertainment industry.  Even til today, when I listen to this song, I feel goosebumps, for some reason that I can’t explain.

I really, really want to go for their Gravity tour, but financial issue is the problem 😦 Sigh. I really wish someone will sponsor/give me a ticket to their concert!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
