RSS

Love, Me

05 Sep

I read a note my Grandma wrote back in 1923 
Grandpa kept it in his coat, and he showed it once to me 
He said, “Boy, you might not understand, but a long, long time ago, 
Grandma’s daddy didn’t like me none, but I love your Grandma so. 

We had this crazy plan to meet and run away together 
Get married in the first town we came to and live forever 
But nailed to the tree where we were supposed to meet instead 
I found this letter, and this is what it said : 

“If you get there before I do 
Don’t give up on me 
I’ll meet you when my chores are through 
I don’t know how long I’ll be 

But I’m not gonna let you down 
Darling wait and see 
And between now and then 
Til I see you again 

I’ll be loving you 
Love, Me.” 

I read those words just hours before my Grandma passed away 
In the doorway of the church where me and Grandpa stopped to pray 
I know I’ve never seen him cry in all my fifteen years 
But as he said these words to her, his eyes fill up with tears 

“If you get there before I do 
Don’t give up on me 
I’ll meet you when my chores are through 
I don’t know how long I’ll be 

But I’m not gonna let you down 
Darling wait and see 
And between now and then 
Til I see you again 

I’ll be loving you 
Love, Me.” 

Something about this song really tugs at my heartstrings. It’s probably a combination of the lyrics and the melody of the song that caused this feeling.
The essence of conviction, hope, faith and most importantly, love, can really be seen  in the lyrics. Not that I want to be emotional or what, but somehow the lyrics brings a tear to my eyes when I see it, and coupled with the song, the feeling of the song can be really felt deep in the heart.

For some reason, I couldn’t find the original version of the song on YouTube, so this is the best that I managed to find since I don’t really like to post up covers, UNLESS they’re really good.
The annoying part about finding this song is that when I type ‘Love Me’ in the YouTube search bar, instead of showing Collin Rayes’ name, it shows Justin Bieber’s name instead -____- It’s really annoying to me, since the Collin Raye version is the one that I’m looking for and I’m in no way interested in checking out Justin Bieber’s stuff, because real, heartfelt music is what I really like, not something that’s so heavily edited by autotune.

I know that a lot of music that I listen to in the past (and still listen to even until today) does have a certain extent of autotune, but I don’t really mind it that much because the essence of the song somehow still remained. But now, I feel that a lot of music these days contains too much autotune for my liking and it’s kind of made me less inclined to keep up with whatever’s playing on the radio in recent times.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
