RSS

Ecclesiastes 9:11

12 Dec

This post is extremely late, in part because of finals, so I’ve been cramming hard for them and hence I have literally no life. To the extent that I haven’t seen Christmas lights until now! 😦

I ran Standard Chartered 21.1km on 5th December, and boy it was really tiring. Surprisingly, my timing for the first 10km improved quite a fair bit compared to last year when I ran both Sundown and Stand Chart 10km, considering that I didn’t really train much, especially in the last 2 weeks leading up to the run because I came down with the flu. Disastrous from 11-15km when we were running along the highway towards the CBD area, because there were no distance markers!

I swear that stretch was 1 of the toughest ever endured, because there’s no way to tell how far you’ve gone, and it all boils down to mental strength and perseverance to finish the race. And it wasn’t until 16km that I finally saw the distance marker again!

While I was running (slowing down rapidly due to aching legs), I saw this guy running slightly ahead of me, and at his back where his bib was, Ecclesiastes 9:11 was written on it.

I have seen something else under the sun: The race is not to the swift or the battle to the strong, nor does food come to the wise or wealth to the brilliant or favor to the learned; but time and chance happen to them all.
– Ecclesiastes 9:11

When I saw that verse, I felt suddenly empowered again, that surge of hope returned again. I picked up my pace again, as best as I could due to my horribly aching legs by then.
That last stretch was 1 of the toughest ever. I’m glad I survived it, in the name of the Lord.

Especially so, since a few hours after the race, news broke that a 22-year-old guy died after completing 21.1km.
It was really quite unnerving to hear about it, because he’s close to my age, and same category. Imagine the horror and shock.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
