RSS

Unpredictability.

30 Oct

For me in general, I do like a bit of unpredictability, because that’s what makes life more enjoyable and exciting, with a touch of mystery. It’s always fun to uncover mysteries, especially if they’re pleasant ones. After all, being overly predictable can make one so boring.

But my point on unpredictability isn’t on uncovering mysteries now, it’s emphasized on how life can be so unpredictable.

Just last night, I saw on Facebook and Twitter about a particular guy from church (whom I don’t know in person) who just recently lost his life. He was near graduation, from what I gathered. I’m not sure about the circumstances behind his passing, but someone mentioned that he was a biker, so my assumption is that he had an accident.
I can’t even begin to imagine the grief his family and his girlfriend must be going through right now, at this point in time.

Young, with such a bright future ahead, and it’s gone within an instant. That’s unpredictability for you.

It’s so heartbreaking to hear of such news, even if I don’t know who he is in person, and I probably might not even be able to fully comprehend the extend of his family’s and girlfriend’s grief right now at this point in time because I’ve never been through such a situation. In honesty, if it were me in the situation of having to cope with grief like this, I’m not even sure if I could handle it. For all I know, I could have fallen apart completely.

In times like this, the future can look so bleak and empty, with nothing ahead but endless darkness, for goodness knows how long. Some recover and see the light at the tunnel relatively fast, whereas others might not even be able to walk out of their grief and may slip into depression, or worse, suicide. It’s such a terrible thought to contemplate, and even right now, my heart aches for his family, girlfriend and his friends around him.

It’s precisely because of this that I feel it’s very important to love those near and dear to you wholeheartedly, and live life with a big smile as often as possible. Sure, there’re times when things don’t go your way, but the most important thing is to love and smile.
Life is so unpredictable; 1 moment it’s there, the next moment it’s gone.

No wonder people say it’s not about how long you’ve lived, it’s about how you lived your life that counts. It’s so true.

For you, I trust that you’re safe in the hands of the Lord, you’re in a better place now. Rest in peace, and your family, friends and your girlfriend will be in my prayers, even though I don’t know you personally.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
