RSS

I think I indulged in a tad too much of Western food lately..

30 Jan

I really wasn’t kidding when I said I indulged in too much Western food recently. And it was nearly 3 days consecutive of Western food! Why I said ‘nearly’, was because I had Western food on last Thursday, then on the weekend itself.

All for J’s birthday πŸ™‚ But I’m not complaining even though I spent quite a lot of money on food, because it was really good and spending time with the 1 person you love makes it all the more enjoyable and heartwarming πŸ™‚

Thursday: Jacob’s Cafe at Changi Village!

482961_10151255905428977_2036189868_n
German meatloaf and sausage set. The food was a bit overpriced for the fact that the meatloaf was actually just 1 slice of something that looks like luncheon meat :\ But the french fries were good! In general I’d say that the ambience at Jacob’s Cafe was really good, since Changi Village is a quiet and quaint place to me πŸ™‚ Somehow it reminds me a little of West Coast. Not to mention that we were very near Changi Beach as well. And I really love the beach because it’s somewhere I can feel really free and peaceful, feeling the sea breeze in my face πŸ™‚

 

Saturday: Fosters’, Holland Village

It was dinner with Alcoholics to celebrate both J and Chin Hian’s birthdays!

The food was actually pretty good, with carpetbag steak (steak with oysters in them!), portobello mushrooms with pasta..

What I had was Fosters’ Club Sandwich, in part because I didn’t want to splurge so much money. I wasn’t expecting much for mine, but when the food was served and we saw my order, I swear my jaw dropped. Big time.

I’m kicking myself for not taking a photo to emphasize the size of my serving of food. It was 2 club sandwiches with lettuce, cucumber, tomato, chicken breast, bacon and egg, and some dressing, but I can’t remember what dressing was used; with french fries that were really good and a big serving of wild rocket salad drizzled with olive oil. The serving was huge, and it was ONLY $12.90 before GST and service tax. I’m not kidding when I say that it’s a really good deal. This was my first time at Fosters’, and I’d definitely be back again ’cause the ambience is good. Only downsides were that the live singer apparently was having an off day (he somehow seemed to be losing steam as he sung covers of various songs), and the mosquitoes really wouldn’t let me off. Not funny when you have 3 bites on your legs at 1 go!

 

Sunday: Outback Steakhouse, Millenia Walk

321359_10151260610088977_1084117107_n
Baby back ribs – mine!

385340_10151260915088977_280710496_n
Outback special – Jem’s! The beef was so good. No Worcestershire sauce or sauce of any kind was used in this dish, but the beef was out-of-the-world awesome, and kind of puts Jack’s Place to shame in a way. Not saying that Jack’s Place is lousy though! πŸ™‚ It’s still pretty alright to me.

387166_10151260911883977_201967885_n
Side dish of shrimps for the Outback Special. The dressing for this was mango+salsa+something else, which is spicy and somehow not to my liking, even though I like spicy stuff. It probably was the sourness of it..?

2592c86c689e11e2ae2a22000a1f9723_7

The brownie was orgasmically good. No kidding. The slight crunch of the pecans and the sweetness of the vanilla ice cream made it doubly awesome! ^^
Happy birthday, J ❀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
