RSS

Reminiscing F1.

20 Sep

Last year, Jem and myself went for F1 and we had a blast together watching all the cars zoom past us, even though the main highlight of the whole event (to me at least) was seeing Jay Chou and Maroon 5 in person then.

How often do we get the famous racers, and Jay Chou+Maroon 5 within an event!?

Okay fine, the famous racers would be yearly as we all know. But for the performing acts, not that likely that you’d be so lucky too!

As I’m typing this, there’re thousands of people at Padang right now, watching Big Bang and screaming their heads off for them.

Granted, I’m not a Kpop fan, so yep. Anyone who knows me in person would actually know that I have not much liking for Kpop – but that doesn’t mean I don’t like Korea’s culture! In fact I wouldn’t mind going to Korea 1 day to understand and experience their culture. But I’ve never, and will never understand the craze over Kpop. I don’t even watch Running Man, so there you have it.

Okay I’ve digressed.

Point is, I suddenly remembered the time both of us were actually watching the racers going at it during the practice circuit sessions and qualifying rounds, and subsequently the final itself. And the memory of seeing Jay Chou and Maroon 5 within the weekend was without a doubt, 1 of the biggest highlights of my life.

It might really be just me, but for some reason this year’s performing acts lineup didn’t particular interest/excite me, as compared to last year. And my main gripe is really the fact that Justin Bieber is coming to Singapore for the closing performance for F1 this year.
In honesty I was hoping it would be Bruno Mars, but upon realizing that it was Justin Bieber, I was sorely disappointed.

Maybe it’s me that I’m just too old to appreciate his music.. I’m not sure. But 1 thing that definitely got to me was the fact that the Biebs had often been in the news, and usually for the wrong reasons.

I’d been telling my friends, and whoever’s willing to listen, that if Justin TIMBERLAKE came instead, it’ll be a whole new thing altogether. Not that I’m a really huge fan of Justin Timberlake, but I really must admit that he has the swag, the style, the class, and the smoothness in his MVs and music. And hey, the fact that he was from N’Sync last time (I grew up listening to the late 90s-early 2000s boybands like Westlife, Backstreet Boys, A1, N’Sync..) also was a plus point too πŸ˜€ There’s a good reason why Justin Timberlake is the President of Pop!

Whoops, I’ve digressed yet again.

But point is, I miss the thrill of being there, to watch the action live. This year’s F1 season will see us not being in Singapore instead – Gold Coast, here we come!! (in 23 hours’ time)

I can’t wait. We really can’t wait to jet off. It’s about time too, before the heat in Singapore drives us bananas. And here’s to more crazy epic happenings, of forging fond memories.. πŸ™‚

a8e8f2b4063711e28653123138104459_7
Us, last year. Fond memories of the event back then. And may many more memories (not necessarily F1 related) be forged in our hearts, never to be forgotten. πŸ™‚

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
