RSS

Chronicles of the birthday feasting – Sofra Turkish Cafe and Restaurant + Ricciotti + Le Comptoir

20 Aug

It’s the birthday week for me, the time when I hit 24. 1 more year and I’m right smack in the middle of my 20s. Why does time seem to fly so fast when we’re in our 20s!?

Effectively, since the beginning of the week, all that I’ve been doing after work and course is really just EATING. No kidding, it was really just feasting through a lot of food and it also means a fair bit of weight gained. But I shall just say that calories don’t exist during my birthday week (fat hope!)

Monday 040814:

Tabs wanted to meet up with me to give me a dessert treat, and she strongly believed that it should be done before my actual birthday, if not on the actual day.

No kidding, this period was seriously insane feasting. FOR 1 WHOLE WEEK.

Sofra Turkish Cafe and Restaurant (050814 – the actual day)

20140805_194532
Jumbo Kebab Combo – this was really perfect for 2, as stated in the menu. Shredded chicken, lamb on skewers, beef, Turkish bread, eggplant skewers (okay I’m not a fan of eggplants in honesty), wraps – this was filling and really, incredibly satisfying! Jeremy and I loved this combo, and it fed us both so well that we had a bit of a food coma afterwards 🙂
20140805_205129
Ladies and gentlemen, I introduce Kunefe to you.
Khishnah – crust made from long thin noodle threads, heated in oil, spread with soft cheese, drenched in sugar syrup, crushed pistachios as garnishing.
1 word to describe it: Mind-blowing. Yes, it was that good! The taste was really very complex and admittedly, got a bit too sweet at the end because of the sugar syrup, but it’s something that we never tried before and we were really glad we decided to order it eventually, since after al it’s a Turkish Restaurant we’re at!

Sofra
100 Beach Road
#02-42/44
Shaw Tower
Shaw Leisure Gallery
Singapore 189702

Ricciotti (060814)

 

20140806_194541
Pizzoto – pizza with bacon, mushrooms and egg. That egg yolk! *inserts lovey eye emoticon*

IMG_3803
Spaghetti Marinara – my favorite of the day! Mainly because I’m a huge seafood lover 🙂
IMG_3804
Linguine al Cranchio – crabmeat pasta. Right balance of spiciness, with chunks of crab meat inside.
IMG_3806
310g Grilled boneless chicken thigh in Ricciotti’s signature marinade. May Ching’s recommendation, and the chicken was absolutely succulent – loved it!

May Ching recommended this place at Star Vista (even though there’re other outlets at Riverwalk and China Square), and man what a gem this place is. It wasn’t even crowded during the dinner hour, even though it did have a fair number of patrons then, which made it doubly better for us girls to sit and catch up with one another. It’s understated, prices are fairly reasonable and most importantly their food is good. Perhaps their only catch is that their dessert menu is somewhat limited. But other than that, all the food above was shared among the 4 of us ladies, and wow. We loved it for their food quality and prices 🙂

Ricciotti (Riverwalk)
Opens daily, 9:30am – 11pm
20 Upper Circular Road
B1-49/50 The Riverwalk
Singapore 058416

Ricciotti (China Square)
Open Mondays to Fridays, 11am – 10pm
Saturdays, 4pm – 10pm
Closed on Sundays
3, Pickering Street,
#01-36/37 Nankin Row,
China Square Central
Singapore 048660

Ricciotti (Star Vista)
Opens daily, Sundays to Thursdays, 11am – 10pm
Fridays and Saturdays, 11am – 11pm
1, Vista Exchange Green,
#01-33 # 01-K2,
The Star Vista
Singapore 138617

20140806_211655
So after that very filling Italian dinner, we decided to head to Awfully Chocolate for desserts, and after finding a place, I told the girls I had to make a run to the restrooms after deciding on the chocolate mille crepe cake because my stomach was all over the place for that entire day for some reason. When I came back, I found that they had changed my seat, but I didn’t think much about it. The next moment, this came from behind me :’)

IMG_3812
7 years and counting, thanks for the many years of friendship since our JJ days 🙂 much love to you girls!

Le Comptoir (070814)

Admittedly, I’d never heard of this place before, until Li Ying brought me here. Being in the editorial and media line, she has the perks of finding what’s good, noteworthy, new (and the list goes on) for the gastronomical quest ^^
The lighting is bad for general photography (read: warm yellow lighting) – which also means that the ambience in the place is also really very nice. It’s like a bar, and very chill. It was packed even on a Thursday night!

Hence, photos were taken with Li Ying using her phone flashlight to enhance quality. Yes, I know I’m anal that way with photos, especially in food photography.

20140807_195650
Morning Texas – think breakfast food, in buckwheat crepe. It was something really new, considering that it’s buckwheat crepe and not the normal type. Pretty good, in my honest opinion! Especially since I love my eggs – anyone who knows me will agree on that!
Li Ying had Kao San which was a Thai ingredient one – didn’t manage to get a photo of it but the prawns were crunchy and fresh 🙂
20140807_202435
Nutella and Hazelnut crepe – my favorite!! After all, who can resist Nutella!?
However, it got a bit too much for us towards the end as it was too sweet. But heck, no complaints there!

 

Le Comptoir
79 Circular Road
Opens Monday – Tuesday: 11:00 – 00:00
Wednesday – Thursday: 11:00 – 02:00
Friday – Saturday: 11:00 – 03:00
Closed on Sunday

There was actually more food too, on Friday. But it was a special day that day and shall be left to the next post, because it’s a weeknight after all and I still have to work the next day.

Til then! (And hope whoever comes by my blog finds the foodie guides handy too (: )

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 20, 2014 in Food, friends, Jem

 

Leave a Reply

 
